Fahrenheit (1986)

Toto (CBS, 463087 2)

Fahrenheit is a typical in-between album, between the heavier experiment of Isolation and the second time Toto found their sound, just like on Toto IV, on The seventh one. Fahrenheit is the most soulful and funky Toto album, with the classic Lukather/Goodrum ballad I'll be over you.
On Fahrenheit Toto got their third lead vocalist Joseph Williams, who left the band after The seventh one. From the beginning he participated pretty much in songwriting for Toto. "Joe is a fantastic vocalist and musician. He's a son of composer John Williams. He was perfect for Toto. But Joe was in the middle of a personal development that kept him from the right drive for the band. He had some personal problems, so he couldn't perform every night. We went crazy. (...) Basicly he was a perfect Toto member, as a person and as a musician. It would be great to work with him again in the future." (Mike Porcaro, Oor, October 1992).

"Miles... hmm, Steve Porcaro was with Miles at Jeff's home studio when Miles cut Human nature and Miles dug our vibe and Paich and I had written Don't stop me now and we played it for Miles and he dug it and he said he would do it for us ... for FREE. Jeff and him traded personal art work as the price. Really cool stuff. Miles heard Fahrenheit when it was done and called me on the phone and asked me to join his band... We were leaving on that tour and I had to say no. I was honored and would have loved to have done it, I told him to call Robben Ford. He did, the rest is history." (Steve Lukather, stevelukather.com).



  1. Till the end (D. Paich, J. Williams)
  2. We can make it tonight (J. Williams, J. Porcaro, B. Bregman)
  3. Without your love (D. Paich)
  4. Can't stand it any longer (D. Paich, J. Williams, S. Lukather)
  5. I'll be over you (S. Lukather, R. Goodrum)
  6. Fahrenheit (D. Paich, J. Porcaro, J. Williams)
  7. Somewhere tonight (D. Paich, J. Porcaro, S. Lukather)
  8. Could this be love (D. Paich, J. Williams)
  9. Lea (S. Porcaro)
  10. Don't stop me now (D. Paich, S. Lukather)


Steve Lukather: guitars, vocals
David Paich: keyboards, vocals
Mike Porcaro: bass
Jeff Porcaro: drums & percussion
Joseph Williams: vocals
Steve Porcaro: keyboards

Additional musicians:
Joe Porcaro, Lenny Castro, Jim Keltner, Steve Jordan, "Sidney", Jim Horn, Jerry Hey, Tom Scott, Gary Grant, Chuck Findley, Charlie Looper, Bill Reichenbach, Don Henley, Mike McDonald, David Sanborn, Miles Davis, Amin Bhatia, Paulette Brown, Tony Walthes, Mike Sherwood, Fergie Frederiksen.

Produced by Toto


  1. Whitout your love
  2. I'll be over you