L.A. attraction (2006)

AOR (MTM Music, 0681-153)

Frédéric Slama actually is a music journalist from France and had lived in L.A. for more than 10 years. He was mainly responsible for bringing Westcoast music to his native country in the late 70's by hundreds of interviews, radio shows and several thousand reviews in different music magazines. After having done a couple of solo albums and having produced some French and American artists, Frédéric decided to start a “one man band”. This marked the birth of his project AOR, always utilising the cream of US session players. In 2000, the first album L.A. Concession was released and gave Frédéric a big respect in the Westcoast / AOR music scene. The second album Next stop L.A (self-financed like the first one) was released one year later and again featured the help of several top session players such as Richard Page, Tony Franklin, Michael Thompson, Steve George & Carlos Vega.

It was in 2002 that Frédéric Slama took AOR to a new dimension with the critically acclaimed third album L.A. reflection, which was considered to be the best Westcoast CD of the year by many journalists and fans. It featured all the big names in music industry such as Steve Lukather, Mike Porcaro, Jeff Porcaro, David Paich (all Toto members) and a line up of stars such as Tommy Denander, Göran Edman, Michael Landau, Vinnie Colaiuta, Michael Ruff, Bruce Gaitsch, Rick Riso and lots of other top L.A. artists. The album became a huge success and was co-produced by AOR-legend Tommy Denander and world famous L.A. producer David Diggs.

In 2003, Frédéric Slama was back with an even greater CD, which again featured the best musicians any Westcoast and melodic rock fan could possibly imagine: Bill Champlin (Chicago), Steve Overland (FM), Steve Lukather (Toto), Michael Landau, Bruce Gaitch, Brandon Fields and two Westcoast legends who hadn't recorded anything for over 20 years: David Roberst & Dane Donohue! This album was called Dreaming of L.A. and again co-produced by Tommy Denander and David Diggs. In 2004, Frédérick released Nothing but the best, an album featuring the best songs from his previous CDs, fully remastered by TD plus 3 brand new unreleased tracks featuring Fergie Fredricksen and Dane Donohue on lead vocals.

Now, AOR is back with a brand new CD called L.A. attraction, once again featuring the talents of many great AOR / Westcoast stars. This time, AOR developed a slightly different musical approach and moved into a more rock-oriented direction: L.A. attraction sounds like a mix between Toto, Survivor, Radioactive and Foreigner and is a real feast for all AOR and melodic rock aficionados! This new album, again produced by Tommy Denander, takes Westcoast and AOR music to a new level of perfection.


  1. How could I ever forgive her (Slama)
  2. Don't ever say goodbye (Slama)
  3. One more chance (Slama)
  4. Like an open book (Slama)
  5. The house of love (Slama)
  6. Tears in the rain (Slama)
  7. I won't give up on you (Slama)
  8. The spark of my soul (Slama)
  9. Last chance at love (Slama)
  10. L.A. winds (Slama)
  11. Give a little love (Slama)
  12. Lost in your eyes (Slama)


Frédéric Slama ­ guitars, keyboards
Tommy Denander ­ guitars, keyboards, bass
Joey Heredia - drums
Steve Lukather - guitars (7, 12)
Michael Landau - guitars
Philip Bardowell - vocals
Dane Donohue - vocals
Rick Riso - vocals
J.Lynn Johnston - vocals
David Diggs - keyboards, guitars
Peter Friestedt - guitars, keyboards
David Williams - guitars
Marcos Udeba - keyboards
Tobias Marberger - keyboards