The Eddy Christiani Award is an initiative of poppuntzeeland and is presented every year to a guitarist who has won his spurs within the international pop business and who has delivered an inspiring contribution to the development of electrical guitar music. Previous winners of the award include Leendert Haaksma (2006), Dany Lademacher (2007), Adrian Vandenberg (2008) and Jan Akkerman (2009).

Poppuntzeeland is very proud to receive guitar legend Steve Lukather. On April 3 he will perform after the traditional Bandstafette together with the keyboard player with roots in Zeeland Jeroen Rietbergen, bass player Michel van Schie, drummer Ton Dijkman and vocalist Bert Heerink. These popular musicians accompany artists like Marco Borsato, Jan Akkerman and Trijntje Oosterhuis.

Lukather: "I am totally blown away by this incredible honor and for the life of me, don't know HOW I have been chosen out of the many great players out there. I will cherish this award and I am really looking forward to coming to my 2nd home, Holland, to enjoy this great honor! I hope I can live up to what it means. Thank you from the bottom of my heart and soul."