Bringing back the funk (2008)

Culbertson, Brian (Grp Records , B00160ANQY)

Bringing Back the Funk reached number one on the Billboard Top Contemporary Jazz Albums Chart and stayed there for two weeks.[1] The album was produced by Brian Culbertson and executive produced by Maurice White of Earth, Wind & Fire and features artists such as Bootsy Collins, Larry Dunn, Maceo Parker, Musiq Soulchild, Larry Graham, Ledisi and Gerald Albright. This album was recorded mostly live with all the musicians in the studio like 'back in the day'.

Brian's cover song of the David Bowie mega hit Fame appeared as a bonus track on the 2008 album Bringing back the funk. The track is hard to get (only in Japan), but it was added to Brians Soundcloud account.


  1. Funkin like my father (Brian Culbertson)
  2. Always remember (Brian Culbertson)
  3. Hollywood swinging (Brian Culbertson)
  4. The house of muisic (Brian Culbertson)
  5. You got to funkifize (Brian Culbertson)
  6. The groove (Brian Culbertson)
  7. The world keeps going around (Brian Culbertson)
  8. Excuse me... What's your name? (Brian Culbertson)
  9. Voice inside (Brian Culbertson)
  10. Let's stay in tonight (Brian Culbertson)
  11. Fame (Sheldon Reynolds), bonus track


Steve Lukather - guitar (11)

Steve Lukather Side Image

Tour dates

Visit the official TOTO website for current tour dates.

  1. 31Mar2023
    Tulsa United States
    BOK Center
  2. 01Apr2023
    Memphis United States
  3. 04Apr2023
    San Antonio United States
    AT&T Center
  4. 07Apr2023
    Springfield United States
    Great Southern Bank Arena
  5. 08Apr2023
    Wichita United States
    INTRUST Bank Arena

More tour dates »